Open-Air Theatre Festival at Bacon Theatre, Cheltenham | The Bacon Theatre

Open-Air Theatre 

The idyllic, stone built, Tuckwell Amphitheatre is the perfect setting for our annual Open Air Theatre Festival, which returns this summer 2-12th August 2022!  Surrounded by lush trees and shrubs and sheltered from the outside world, this magical venue attracts the very best in touring open-air theatre from across the UK.

Festival 2022 Line Up

Tuesday 2nd August
2.30pm
Immersion Theatre | Rapunzel
Friday 5th August
7.30pm
Opera Anywhere |
Iolanthe
Monday 8th August
7.30pm
Jenny Wren | A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Thursday 11th August 9.00pm
Cinema Under The Stars: Dirty Dancing [15]
Wed 3rd August
7.30pm
Slapstick Picnic | The Importance of Being Earnest
Saturday 6th August
7.30pm
Peter Gill | Swinging Summer Evening
Tuesday 9th August,
7.30pm
DOT Productions | Pygmalion
Friday 12th August
9.00pm
Cinema Under The Stars: Chicago [12]
Thursday 4th August
7.30pm
Heartbreak Productions | Twelfth Night
Sunday 7th August
5.30pm
DOT Productions |
Jungle Book
Wednesday 10th August 7.30pm
Heartbreak |
Jane Eyre
Book your tickets now!

This gem of an outdoor festival, tucked away in a secluded corner of Dean Close School, plays host to sublime jazz, classic drama, inspiring Shakespeare, colourful family entertainment, local talent and the enchanting Cinema Under the Stars; during Cheltenham’s Open Air Theatre Festival for two weeks at the end of July to the beginning of August every summer.

Magical Surroundings” (Gloucestershire Echo).

A magical experience ALWAYS.” (Audience member)

Imaginative, enthralling and compelling” (Audience member)

Good company, twinkling lights in the dell, a glass of wine before the film, a hot chocolate at the end – what more could anyone want?!” (Audience member)

TICKETS TO ALL SHOWS ON SALE NOW!