Open-Air Theatre 

The idyllic, stone built, Tuckwell Amphitheatre is the perfect setting for an Open Air Theatre Festival.

Surrounded by lush trees and shrubs and sheltered from the outside world, this magical venue attracts the very best in touring open-air theatre from across the UK.

This gem of an outdoor festival, tucked away in a secluded corner of Dean Close School, plays host to sublime jazz, classic drama, inspiring Shakespeare, colourful family entertainment, local talent and the enchanting Cinema Under the Stars; during Cheltenham’s Open Air Theatre Festival for two weeks at the end of July to the beginning of August every summer.

The Open-Air Theatre Festival gates open 90 minutes before each show, providing festival goers the perfect opportunity to grab refreshments from the Festival Café or a delicious wood fired pizza from the Old Dough Pizza Company on selected dates.

Magical Surroundings” (Gloucestershire Echo).

A magical experience ALWAYS.” (Audience member)

Imaginative, enthralling and compelling” (Audience member)

Good company, twinkling lights in the dell, a glass of wine before the film, a hot chocolate at the end – what more could anyone want?!” (Audience member)

Open-Air Theatre Festival 2020 Line Up

 

Wednesday 5th August | Cinema Under the Stars – The Greatest Showman [PG]

Thursday 6th August | Folksy Theatre – All’s Well That Ends Well

Friday 7th August | The Handlebards – The Importance of Being Earnest

Saturday 8th August | Opera Anywhere – The Magic Flute

Sunday 9th August | The Pantaloons – Twelfth Night 

Wednesday 12th August | Tethered Wits – The Great Gatsby 

Thursday 13th August | Cinema Under the Stars – Pretty Woman [15]

Friday 14th August | Jenny Wren Productions – A Midsummer’s Night Dream

Saturday 15th August | Peter Gill – Swinging Summer Evening

Sunday 16th August | Heartbreak Productions – Mr Stink